Loss

For Johnnie

A lone yellow mum from the huge bouquet

you brought me only two weeks ago

still sits on my desk

 

Your car is in your garage,

Your mug on your coffee table

Your jeans on metal hangers at your cottage

Your tools outside in the shed

 

Your cat is at your sisters’

Your texts on my cell phone

Your voice rings in my ears.

 

Ania said you didn’t need to be born this time,

You came only to help her cope with life.

 

It was easy to believe her.

You were loving and generous,

Light-hearted and witty

Discreet and graceful

 

A superior human being.

 

You saw Ania off,

Nursed your sister after her operation,

Took care of her move when she had to downsize

Went on the trips on your bucket list

And having accomplished your mission in this life

Serenely bid it farewell.

 

I hope you find another reason to come back

To grace the life of a few more mortals

Though too late for me

to enjoy your presence one more time

 

2 thoughts on “Loss

Leave a comment